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July 12, 2011 at 2:13 pm #625055AnonymousInactive
Hi All,
Felt it best to post this in here as I understand all and sundry don’t have access here.
I need some advice.
I have launched a new football ( soccer ) news site back on the 3rd June and I have grown the site to the extent, articles on it are being featured and linked to from UK national newspaper sites and also the BBC.
In addition, the site’s feed is being picked up by some very prominent news aggregators, whereby as a result the traffic is fantastic.
However, football news traffic is very low conversion, but my plan is to sell media buy packages to around 4 or 5 sportsbooks. Instead of the angle of I can guarantee x number of players, I want to sell this based on, your book will get seen by xxx,xxx people a month.
So I am guessing a CPM deal is the way forward. I have no problem providing any prospective advertiser to have access to the google analytics for the site, to verify the traffic. I just want to know what would be the best CPM rate to charge?
Is $/£1 per 1000 page impressions to low/expensive? Or could I realistically charge more, and if so how much, without being laughed off the phone/meeting/email LOL
To give an indication of the amount of traffic the site is getting, yesterday we had just over 24,000 unique visitors. But then, we were on the BBC site once again. I estimate realistically, the site will be achieving half a million unique visitors ( Uniques – not hits or page impressions ) a month soon.
July 12, 2011 at 5:10 pm #817354AnonymousInactiveThe wizard of odds used to auction off spots before he got bought out by bodog.
You can pick up auction software easily and that’s the way I would go with a site like that.
Figure out what the spots are, what you minimum requirements re. revenue will be, assign minimum bids and off you go.
July 12, 2011 at 5:28 pm #817356AnonymousInactivedo you know of any good auction software products that you would suggest dom?
July 12, 2011 at 8:27 pm #817361AnonymousInactive@Big Fish 229890 wrote:
do you know of any good auction software products that you would suggest dom?
I would recommend something like this Yield Optimized Advertisement Delivery and Bidding
CPC is the way to go if you want to do auction IMHO and that is why Google, Facebook, etc. all go this route primarily. You want to ensure it’s preferably yield-optimized (max CPC X velocity of clicks) or just straight up CPC bidding.
July 12, 2011 at 8:34 pm #817362AnonymousInactive@Webzcas 229884 wrote:
Hi All,
Felt it best to post this in here as I understand all and sundry don’t have access here.
I need some advice.
I have launched a new football ( soccer ) news site back on the 3rd June and I have grown the site to the extent, articles on it are being featured and linked to from UK national newspaper sites and also the BBC.
In addition, the site’s feed is being picked up by some very prominent news aggregators, whereby as a result the traffic is fantastic.
However, football news traffic is very low conversion, but my plan is to sell media buy packages to around 4 or 5 sportsbooks. Instead of the angle of I can guarantee x number of players, I want to sell this based on, your book will get seen by xxx,xxx people a month.
So I am guessing a CPM deal is the way forward. I have no problem providing any prospective advertiser to have access to the google analytics for the site, to verify the traffic. I just want to know what would be the best CPM rate to charge?
Is $/£1 per 1000 page impressions to low/expensive? Or could I realistically charge more, and if so how much, without being laughed off the phone/meeting/email LOL
To give an indication of the amount of traffic the site is getting, yesterday we had just over 24,000 unique visitors. But then, we were on the BBC site once again. I estimate realistically, the site will be achieving half a million unique visitors ( Uniques – not hits or page impressions ) a month soon.
CPM could easily work for this, although so could CPC but the challenge with CPC is that you’re pernalised if the advertiser’s creative does not get clicked on very much due to bad design, etc.
If you wish to calculate a CPM or CPC rate, you just work things backwards. See the following:
10,000 impressions (or could be clicks) = 1 depositor
1 depositor = £200 CPA
£200 / 10,000 = £.02 per impression
£.02 x 1000 = £20 CPMOf course, the above is taking into consideration a few key assumptions.
Let me know if this makes sense.
Cheers
WarrenJuly 12, 2011 at 11:09 pm #817363AnonymousInactiveThe wiz just auctioned off the spots. I used to buy spots so am familiair with how it worked with him.
The estimated impressions for that spot can be published in the auction. I don’t think at all it is necessary to go by clicks, then you get involved in tracking and the beauty of simplicity is lost. So are profits as you will be investing a bunch of time.
The price per spot regulates itself as the bidders soon learn what each spot is worth to them.
Simple, straight forward auctioning of real estate is a care free, self regulating and profitable way to go. All you have to do once a month is look who won the spot and plop the ad in the spot.
I quickly found the spots at the wiz that gave me the most bang for my buck, and I knew when to stop bidding when a newbie kept raising the price. I was a happy customer. And the wiz was a happy camper, too. In the wiz’ case, the biggest bidder got tired of bidding and just bought all spots out. Not sure what the final contract was, but it is still ongoing. Been years now.
I recommend following the old saying: KEEP IT SIMPLE, STUPID!
PS. This way you will also attract things other than bookies, you may get top affs in the field, publications and whatnot. No telling what they would bid – could be a gold mine this way.
July 13, 2011 at 8:04 am #817369AnonymousInactiveVery interesting thread…
I was thinking of trying to buy some traffic for my new site. The casinoportal market are very competitive in Denmark as well:-)
Barcley
Betsafe anmeldelseJuly 13, 2011 at 11:31 am #817373AnonymousInactiveMany thanks for all of your feedback – The auction idea sounds great and I remember it being part of the Wizard site way back, when I was a part time affiliate.
Definately food for thought here.
The one thing I don’t want if I did a media buy is follow on hassle from programs stating that I have only brought in x amounts of players, rather than y. Hence I am looking to sell spots based on the overall exposure those ads will get.
I am also up for redesigning the site to the extent, a premium text ad gets placement in the middle of an article – which if linked on the BBC will get a crap load of traffic in a 24 hour period.
Ideally this site, I would like to be using a revenue model which provides some kind of guaranteed income moving forward.
Will definately check out the auction software.
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